Applications and Job Descriptions
The Springdale Fire Department will be accepting applications from Wednesday February 1st until Friday, June 9 at 4 p.m.
Springdale Fire Department Application and Hiring Process
What you need to do:
- Register for a FireTEAM test date and time through the National Testing Network (NTN) at www.nationaltestingnetwork.com. Tests are offered nationwide multiple times a week, including Saturdays. During the registration process, make certain you select "Springdale Fire Department" to receive your test results.
- Upon completion of FireTEAM test, your results will automatically be forwarded to the Springdale Fire Department. SFD requires the candidate to complete the PHQ. You can access the questionnaire through your candidate account. The PHQ must be completed by the closing date or you may not be considered further in the process.
- Successfully complete a CPAT exam within 365 days of the Springdale Fire Department application deadline. Our local CPAT test is administered by the Northwest Arkansas Metro Chiefs Association. Current CPAT schedules and registration information can be found at the Northwest Arkansas Metropolitan Fire Chiefs website: http://nwafirechiefs.org/cpattesting.htm. Candidates also have the ability to complete their CPAT certification through any certified IAFF/IAFC organization including but not limited to the National Testing Network.
- Submit a completed Springdale Fire Department application prior to the application deadline. Your application must include a copy of your driver's license, any applicable certifications and licenses, and your validated CPAT certification issued by an agency certified by the IAFF/IAFC. Applications can be downloaded at Employment Application. Be advised that applications will not be accepted outside of our advertised application period.
Salary Information: Annual starting salary: $34,837 for a FF/EMT and $41,699 for a FF/Paramedic
Benefit Information: Health, Dental, Vision, LOPFI retirement, Optional Deferred Compensation Plans, Uniforms provided, Optional Supplemental Insurance Plans, and Holiday Pay.
Age: 21 to 34 years of age
US Citizen: Yes
Valid ARKANSAS State Driver's License: Yes/ or able to obtain upon hire
Ability to Read/Speak English: Yes
Vision: Correctable to 20-20 per NFPA Standard 1582.
Necessary Certifications: Nothing required, but EMT certification is preferred.
Prior to Hiring: High School Diploma or GED
Post Hiring: Firefighter I &II
Haz-Mat Awareness & Operations
Arkansas EMT License
(Post hiring education is provided by SFD, if needed.)
Felony, Criminal Activity Disqualifiers: Any felony conviction related to drugs or crimes against a person.
Driving Disqualifiers: One DWI conviction within past 12 months or more than one DWI.
Drug Use Disqualifiers: Any felony conviction or failing a pre-employment drug screen.
Additional Disqualifiers: If you are found to be falsifying any information on your application, you will be disqualified from employment.